The Virtual Identity

I’m sure many of us who has been gracing the virtual realm for quite sometime must have another identity unless you’re stupid or careless enought trotting around on your real identity. As much as the true you came out on this part of the realm, it will never be more than just a glimpse of who we really are in the real life.

A friend, who has been blogging for quite sometime, whose known with her screen name commented once that when her real name was conceal on an online article that the real name does not exist in the virtual world. Only the screen name is her real identity here. I must say, I have quite the same approach with her. I resent my real name on the article I written online because, here I’m known as deszell. Ok most of you know my real name. So what right? You all add me in my facebook. But, not in any part of my facebook I ever mentioned my nickname. So you see, I’m really avoiding the cross referencing between the two identity. True it’s not something in the closet, but I’m still inclined to put the two together.

Let it be known to those who knows me. Whose willing to know me enough beyond my virtual identity.

So how does it all started? It was 10 years ago that I took upon the name deszell. New to the Internet and was wowed on how connected I am with the rest of the world. I may be a high school student whose frustrated with her endless graduation essays and final exam. But that doesnt limit me from having  friends beyond the continent of Australia or even to keep intouch with friends back home. It was the remedy for the pressure of graduating high school with less than perfect score.

The implication of life beyond the real world and the networking that I build throughout the web just intrigue me. I guess the word ‘privacy’ scares the hell out of everyone that uses the internet. It has become somehow a rare commodity nowadays, as predicted when I written my graduation essay at that time. It intrigued me enough that I ended up choosing to major in something IS related for uni. Imagine, if deszell wasnt even there at that particular time I might ended up doing acturial studies (lotsa eeks statistics) or god knows what. It also would have not given me the opportunity of knowing FD and at some point completely explore the other side of me.

I was deszell who spent her night writting essays, accompanied by people halfway across the world from where I was. Chatting about life and becoming obsessed with Indie music.

I am now deszell, simply the beauty addict.

For those who knows who I am in the real world. I’m complicated.

This post should have come sooner, it’s 2 months late but anwyay happy birthday dear deszell. You’ll always be the other side of me.

The Virtual Identity

One thought on “The Virtual Identity

  1. […] don’t think you can’t anymore separate this identity from me. Years ago, I have my own reason to stay with the name deszell online, just because I want to separate the professional life to my passion. I roam the www as deszell in […]

Leave a Reply

