Texture or Taste?

First day of 2010 and I wake up with terrible headache and sorethroat. So I down a paracetamol at 9 in the morning, and went back to bed. Guess what? I wake up at bloody 3 in the afternoon.

First meal for 2010 was eggs florentine. There’s a little drama behind the cooking of this. I got all the ingredients ready and when I open the fridge … there’s no egg! What will eggs florentine be without an egg? Secondly, how the heck that the house of eggs distributor have no egg at all. So off I go to the nearest supermarket, for eggs!

So this is day 1 and I only manage to cook 2 recipes today.

Recipe 1: Eggs florentine, combination of poached egg lay on bed of spinach and served with warm mornay sauce. First of all, I understand why Julia Child said that poached egg should be made by the freshest eggs possible. Secondly, when the recipe instruct you to make it with english spinach it really means english NOT Korean nor Indonesia. Lastly, plain flour means plain and not corn starch. The result from this stubborness is clumpy textured mornay sauce. I’m dying to have that creamy looking sauce on the recipe book. The taste however is delish! But I only got to 3/4 of the eggs florentine because the damn korean spinach is so sticky because of the resin it produces when it’s cooked. I shall try again tomorrow combining scrambled eggs with mornay sauce. Sounds yum!

Recipe 2: Fettucini Carbonara with Portobello and Champignon Mushroom. A word of advice, if you want clean looking (white!) carbonara sauce, do not use portobello mushroom. If you’re willing to have dirty looking carbonara sauce, the combination of portobello and cream are divine! I have no idea that carbonara sauce is so easy to make. You just need to whip together cream, eggs and cheese and cook it together with your cooked fettucini and ingredients and shimmer until the eggs are cooked. Voila … you’ve got the fettucini carbonara ready! Had the dinner together with Raysa and she enjoy it! She licked her fingers at the end of the meal and that is the biggest gratitude I will ever get of my food.

2 days and 7 recipes left …

Texture or Taste?

Leave a Reply

