Serum for Spots or Evenness?

I’ve come to so many skincare launches for brightening or whitening range this year that I refuse to just ‘report’ them. There’s got to be more to it. First of all, why do all brightening and whitening skincare only available in Asia? Why, of course, all Asian girls are dying to have a pale skin like Caucasians. Evidently, there’s a huge market there. I wouldn’t argue with that.

Having to gone through all my live being called ‘item’ to my face when people refer to my skintone, I’ve got to admit at one time of my life I had experienced the dire need to have a shade or two lighter skintone. But then I got too tired to respond to every criticism people made to me and I decided to tell them all to just suck it in. I don’t think piling on whitening creams would do much difference to my skin. If it is, do I need to use them all over my body so I don’t look like someone whose wearing a mask?

But, do I completely ditch a skincare range that labelled as whitening or brightening? No, not really. They have some use to.

These kind of skincare can’t really make your skin whiter than your original tone. If it is, you got to start to worry because it’s not supposed to do that. The effect is not permanent, you need some maintenance, because if it is permanent it’s not a cosmetic product but it’s drug. By maintenance, you’ve got to make sure that you don’t ‘burn’ down your tone back to a darker shade once its starting to lighten. There are various numbers of action that you can do to do so – using sunblock, continuing using the same skin regimen, etc.

I myself turn to one of this kind of serum for one of these two reasons: spots and discoulouration/hyperpigmentation. Brightening serum usually did pretty good job in eliminating stubborn spots, that’s where it comes real handy. I can stop cursing at those acne scars with the help of brightening serum. On the other hand, it also helps with skintone evenness. The good thing about it is that nowadays there are many serums that actually target directly on making your complexion looking beautifully even. It’s even better if you’ve got some cash to burn in skincare department, to use the two of them together!

Anyway, just sharing my two cents on these types of skincare.

Serum for Spots or Evenness?

Leave a Reply

