On Being Crafty …

A lot of my friends told me that I have a flair of creativity in my blood. As true as it may sound, I’m not equipped with the right ounce of patience to carry out a crafty project. But coming home from Bali, where I’ve had the chance to visit a friend’s house filled with DIY project at every corner of the house makes me want to give it a little bit of a try. Maybe. Afterall, it all begins with the right intention or as we say it … yang penting niat dulu!

A little while back, I went further down west than I used to – off to Mal Taman Anggrek I go! On the contrary to the popular believe, though I reside in the west part of Jakarta but my house is nowhere near this mall. Guess what I found there? A sassy furniture store with a Scandinavian touch called JYSK. Apparently they’re not just Scandinavian at heart, but they’re a true Scandinavian! This Danish brand has a deep seated root on what we all love with the clean cut Scandinavian style. Unsurprisingly, the founder is named Lars! I’m beginning to think it’s like what ‘Park’ to Korean name.

I’m not in the market of finding a big heavy pieces furniture, but I will always have a weak spot over the little stuff especially when they serve a purpose. That’s why when I stepped into this store it I go gaga because it has everything that I’ve been looking for! Just something to create a dash of fresh air to my dull looking room. Every once in a while we need to inject something new to give it a new life and small stuff works best. A new table lamp or candle holder, something small like a side table or pretty boxes that double up as a storage.

But what pique my interest the most is this colourful hanger.

IMG_20140830_134918

It maybe something simple, but believe me it’s not the easiest thing to find here in Jakarta and they’re always expensive when I found one!

What cross my mind when I first saw these are not for hanging my clothes. Instead it reminds me of the 1 Object 1 Minute projects made by the French designer Pierre Lota which is rather brilliant. He turned several wooden hanger into side table, table lamp and other interesting objects. Of course it needs a certain finesse of creativity to really do it. But a colourful wooden hanger will make it much more interesting, right? What do you think?

Every single one of Pierre Lota project is actually very doable and simple. It’s worth to browse. As for the hanger, my memory completely fail me on the price but I swear it was darn reasonable. Time to give @JYSK_Indonesia a poke, I guess.

On Being Crafty …

Leave a Reply

