My Thoughts on Sunday Riley Artemis

I forgot that I haven’t written a review on Sunday Riley Artemis, which is the only facial oil that I got from the brand. Firstly, let me rant about this brand. Why everything from this brand is so bloody expensive! Especially the facial oil!

Now let’s move onto the review.

s1607480-main-hero-300

Sunday Riley Artemis is a complexion balancing oil. Here’s the detail that I copied straight from Sephora website:

This highly effective face oil is balanced with super CLA from pomegranate and omega 3 from flax seed for a clean, healthy glow from within. Milk thistle seed oil, black cumin seed oil, and pink grapefruit essential oil help fight redness and signs of premature aging caused by toxins and inflammation. An essential oil complex of Australian medicinal plants, lemon ironbark, and lemon myrtle provides anti-inflammatory, purifying, and cleansing support. Skin is left smooth, fresh, and youthful-looking.

The colour of the oil is deep yellow like your typical cooking oil. It has more weight compared to facial oil from Korean brand such as Sulwhasoo and History of Whoo. In fact, it’s tad heavier than Trilogy Rosehip Oil and Josie Maran Argan Oil. I was tad worry that it will feel greasy on my skin. I hate products that don’t get absorbed by the skin because it will cause bumps on my skin. As it turns out, this is quite dry though it’s thicker than most facial oil that I have on my collection.

My biggest pet peeve about this facial oil is the scent that reminds me of pasar ikan! What I enjoy the most about using facial oil, which usually contains carefully selected natural ingredients, is the heavenly and relaxing scent. So, it was quite a bummer that I have to hold my breath everytime I apply this facial oil to my face. The scent is quite strong that remnant of it still present even after an hour. This is truly annoying indeed because I usually used this during the night and it truly bugs me.

Don’t worry thing is about to get better from this point forward.

I first used this oil everyday for two weeks straight under normal condition. By the first week of using it I had two pimples sprouting, which is uncommon for me. I usually only have pimples during PMS and when I used it it’s not even close to that time of the month. I stopped immediately on my second week when I realised things didn’t get better. After neglecting it for a month, I started using it again when I’m having my PMS. Usually I have few bumps and at least two acnes from hormonal changes. That time of the month is quite a brutal period for me and I was expecting more number of casualties than usual. So might as well bombard it with the one product that doesn’t work. As it turned out, it is the one product that work! I have lesser bumps than usual, my acnes seemed to heal much faster and my skin doesn’t look dull at all. Of course I was still unsure whether this is the History of Whoo Soon Hwan essence talking or Sunday Riley Artemis. Because Soon Hwan Essence seems to be the only one that works in maintaining balance to my skin when my hormones goes haywire.

The next month, couple of days before my period, I used the same skincare arsenal but without Soon Hwan Essence. In fact, I paired it up with Missha Time Revolution Essence that doesn’t have any affect to my acne at all, the only affect it shown was keeping my hydration. The same miracle happened without Soon Hwan Essence presence in my skincare arsenal.

From this experiment I concluded that Sunday Riley Artemis only works when my skin isn’t at my best condition. When it’s just peachy and things are in its normal state, it seems to make my skin worst. With that in mind the most that I use this product is 7-10 days a month and only at nighttime because I feel this oil is too heavy even for my dry skin. I’m all about skincare absorption, I tell you. Even then, I don’t use this every month because if my skin is just going through its normal cycle I feel that texture-wise I love the work of Soon Hwan essence much better.

I didn’t buy this in full size because I wasn’t sure about it when I first saw this product on Sunday Riley website. Considering the price, I don’t want to purchase something this expensive if it wasn’t a staple. So when someone at FDMP offered a share version of this oil, I rise to the opportunity and grabbed myself a 5ml share bottle. With at least once a month usage, nighttime only, I’ve been using this probably for 8 months and I still have plenty left. So, I think it’s truly a waste for me to purchase a whole bottle. With that in mind, and how I still much prefer Soon Hwan essence, I don’t think I will be purchasing a whole bottle considering most PO will sell it at about IDR 1,350,000! Still, the biggest deciding factor is the scent part, which I truly don’t enjoy. But, I’m not closed to an opportunity for trying other Sunday Riley facial oil, Luna is top on my list.

But if you want to splurge into something that helps to balance your skin in times of turmoil, you buy this. If you want to look something in oil form that does exactly what I said previously, this is perfect for you. If you’re not into Korean skincare, like yours truly, then this is more up to your alley.

My Thoughts on Sunday Riley Artemis

One thought on “My Thoughts on Sunday Riley Artemis

Leave a Reply

