Back to Basic: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

I have been a real SK-II follower at one period of my life. I think that was when I had my fresh grad job. My aunt introduced me to the brand, she bought a set that she didn’t like and gave it to me and I’ve been in love ever since.I like the whole Japanese Skincare philosophy and it’s also one of the brands that make me research deeper into the east way of skincare ritual and philosophy. How their approach are sometimes different and even the product.

If you’re looking for an information regarding SK-II, I’ve written plenty of very informative articles regarding this brand on Female Daily. Please do a search on ‘SK-II’ I tagged them well so you’re not going to have a hard time doing a search. In my years as Editor, the SK-II campaign is one of the most fulfilling campaigns that I did because I truly believe in their product and I know that they’re good.

So, I thought since I’ve just started again using the ever so popular SK-II Facial Treatment Essence I’ll do an article about the what and how of this product.

When you’re thinking about purchasing this product here’s what you need to know.

  • This is a pre-essence. Which means this is not a toner nor hydrating toner. It’s another step in the skincare ritual.
  • It’s best to use this with a cotton pad, because the Japanese love to use a really thin watery products with cotton pad and sort of tap tap tap it into the skin so the product really absorb. Letting it air dry will not maximise the absorption of the product.
  • If you’re combining this with another SK-II toner, say Clear Lotion or Cellumination Mask-in-Lotion, use this after after the toner.
  • The after/before toner shindig could be confusing. You just need to ask the brand because they know best. In Korean brand, most of the pre-essence are used prior to lotion because their lotion is thick and you don’t need cotton pad. Whereas the texture of the pre-essence is finer, so you want to use the pre-essence first before lotion. But it’s not the case with SK-II. But if you’re using thicker texture toner/lotion, that you don’t need a cotton pad to apply it, you might want to use the SK-II FTE first followed by the thick lotion. Play it by ear, what works best for you is what’s best.
  • This is not magic! But it does help to boost your skin at the cellular level so whatever you’re using next will be working better. It’s like having a F1 driver for your car (the serum).
  • If you experience purging/negative reaction for more than a week, I don’t think this is for you. Let it go. Move on.
  • Purging is not a good thing after a week, it’s your skin cry for help!
  • If you’ve been using this ALONE, and it doesn’t work, HELLO! Need I say more? Again this is skincare product, not magic, people!
  • Oh, you use your acid toner, hydrating toner followed by FTE. If that’s not clear already.

I’m sorry that I write in dot point form, broken sentences and all. I really wanna write something since I’ve been neglecting the blog but I have very little energy left. Good night!

Back to Basic: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

3 thoughts on “Back to Basic: SK-II Facial Treatment Essence

  1. Kiko says:

    Halo mba, boleh tanya, aku pengguna fte tp rangkaian skinker ku menggunakan skII hanya fte, stempo eye, wpss, dan cellum day surge uv utk sunscreennya. Kalo baca2 si fte ini adl pre essence. Lalu aku sempet baca kalo hydrating toner brand2 asia sering memakai istilah water/lotion. Aku blm nemu hydrating toner yg cocok, tp aku sempat pake balancing waternya sulwhasoo dan itu lumayan cocok. Bener ga kalo aku anggap si balancing waternya sulwhasoo ini adl hydrating toner? Lalu aku mau tny lagi, di bbrp review dibilang kalo si balancing water biasanya ditandemin sama balancing emulsion. Nah apa si emulsion ini adl hydrating toner juga? Atau dia sudah masuk pada step moisturizer? Krn di aku cukup melembabkan. Dan kalo aku mau pake serum harus setelah balancing water baru emulsion atau setelah water dan emulsion?

    Thanks

    1. deszell says:

      Urutannya pre-essence, hydrating toner dan emulsion. Emulsion itu sebenarnya pelembap kalau Jepang dan Korea, kalau malam mereka tambah lagi krim, basically night cream. Jadi kalau malam emulsion + cream.

  2. emmily says:

    Kalo aku pakai vitamin c serum, FTE nya dipakai setelah dan sebelum apa mba?
    ururtan yang baik sebenarnya kayak gimana mba?
    Double cleansing, lalu acid toner, lalu serum vit.c, lalu jedah 40menit, lalu FTE, lalu hydrating toner dll,, kalo urutannya kayak gitu udah bener blom mba?

    Soalnya wkt saya tanya sama mba irawaty sarah, katanya kalo pake vitamin c, pre essence itu sebelum hyrating toner,,

    Trus saya mikir jadi FTE itu sebelum hydrating toner..

    Salah kali ya mba? Benernya gimana ya mba deszell? Mohon bantuannya.. Terima kasih.

Leave a Reply

