Pixi Overnight Glow Serum, a milder resurfacing serum alternative

You’ve heard me praising about Sunday Riley Good Genes before, but I have my reservation toward this product. First of all Sunday Riley Good Genes is a 40% unneutralised lactic acid at pH 2.6, which makes it a really powerful resurfacing serum that works effectively with the low pH and it keeps on working all night long as you sleep because it’s unneutralised. Especially when you’re using only Sunday Riley Good Genes. I love this stuff because after using it for a full week my face would look ever so radiant and bright. The texture is super! But I can’t shake the feeling that it’s too much of an exfoliating action for me. Some of you may love it, but I would want a lighter alternative. Secondly, it’s bloody expensive.

Of course, I find a dupe in Novexpert Peeling Night Cream and it’s been a staple in my arsenal for months now. It’s a cocktail of Gluconolactone, Glycolic Acid and Lactic Acid at 10% formulation. On top of that there’s Papaya Enzyme and Vitamin C. A true dream team there. With a third of the price of the Sunday Riley, it offers result that is almost the same. I said, almost.

But of course, I’m always in the search for something new. That’s where this comes in.

This product is recent addition to the expansion of the Pixi’s skintreats line which is made cult by its acid toner Pixi Glow Tonic. While Pixi Glow Tonic is a good product, but I find it too drying for me.

Here’s a complete ingredient list:

Water, Glycerin, Glycolic Acid, Polysorbate 20, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Ammonium Hydroxide, Phenoxyethanol, Propylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Arginine, Disodium EDTA, Tocopheryl Acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Lecithin, Sucrose, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cyclopentasiloxane, BHT, Cyclohexasiloxane, Xanthan Gum, Ascorbic Acid.

It’s a 10% Glycolic Acid resurfacing serum at pH around 3. The texture is a transparent gel that feels soothing on the skin.

How does it wage against the two other product here? If Good Genes is 1, then Novexpert is 2/3 of it, this Pixi here is half of what Good Genes offer you. Which, for yours truly is exactly what’s been missing in the arsenal. Like I say, I like Good Genes but it’s tad too strong for me. I want something milder that works and it makes my skin smooth and radiant as well helps with lightening my acne scar. Yes, Novexpert does all that. But I like this because the cooling texture and it feels like when my skin is acting up this works better because of its soothing ingredient like aloe vera.

Let me repeat. This is great for those looking for a milder resurfacing treatment and not as potent as Good Genes but still deliver results.

I use this often as a serum after hydrating toner and toping it up with another serum and oil or just use it on its own for a week straight only at night for once a month. If I need an extra boost with radiance, I will just occasionally pick this and use it alone after hydrating toner and apply nothing else afterward.

This product is priced at £26.00 for 30ml, which is similar to Novexpert. But if you’re buying it through PO, I suspect it will cost just below half of what you’re paying for Good Genes.

Pixi Overnight Glow Serum, a milder resurfacing serum alternative

4 thoughts on “Pixi Overnight Glow Serum, a milder resurfacing serum alternative

    1. deszell says:

      I think you’re quite right on the statement that there’s no product to move up from GG. So I always try to keep GG as the last resort. Because I don’t want to get dependant on GG.

  1. Jams says:

    Jsyk good genes is actually 5%. She used to claim 40% because in her opinion it acted as if it was that strong due to the ph.

Leave a Reply

