Battle of the Acid Serum: Liquid Gold, Glow Serum, Good Genes and Novexpert

I love to use acid/resurfacing serum – basically a serum containing a higher concentration of AHA/BHA to help the cellular turnover. There’s the daily exfoliation with the acid toner but there’s also a more intensive exfoliation treatment with acid serum.  Usually I incorporate this once or twice weekly or a full week every month. Depending on what my skin need at the time. If I have a really nasty spots I will do the full week treatment. Otherwise I will do the once or twice weekly treatment.

How do I use them? Usually I will do my normal double cleansing, followed by hydrating mask (I have  very dry skin so I really need this to keep my skin hydrated), a mild acid toner followed by the serum. I will use no other product after the acid serum to let the serum really work effectively throughout the night. I know there’s some pros and cons letting the acid works on its own, some people consider it an utter bollocks but some praise how effective it is by leaving it to work alone with nothing else in its way. For me, I leave up to you to try it how often you use it and whether you use is alone or combining it with other products.

In fact, sometimes when I need just an extra oomph the next morning without going the whole nine yards I would use one of these serums below in a serum step, after double toning, followed by treatment serum and moisturiser. Whatever works for you, love.

The four acid serums that I’ve tried and loving it so far are :

  1. Alpha-H Liquid Gold, this is new to my Skincare Arsenal so there’s no review yet. But I’ve been experiencing a positive result from the get go so I include it here.
  2. Pixi Skintreats Overnight Glow Serum, full review here.
  3. Sunday Riley Good Genes, full review here.
  4. Novexpert Peeling Night Cream, full review here, and the only one available in Indonesia.

I know some people will ask me about Paula’s Choice exfoliators. FYI, I’m not using any of the Paula’s Choice exfoliators – toner or serum – because when I tried two samples from her products that contain acids, I have a serious negative reaction of redness, major stings and it itch to high heaven. This is not to say that her product is bad but it seems that I don’t bode well with her product.

More about how I use the four of these after the jump!

1. Alpha-H Liquid Gold GBP 33.50/AUD 59.95 100ml

KEY INGREDIENTS
5% Cosmetic Grade Glycolic Acid pH 2.5
Licorice Extract
Silk Proteins

HOW TO USE (from the website)
Apply Liquid Gold onto cleansed skin each alternate evening. Moisten cotton pad with solution and apply to face, neck and décolletage. When the skin is touch-dry apply your preferred Alpha-H moisturiser or serum. For an intensive treatment do not follow with a moisturiser or serum.

My thoughts

I reach for this when I have dull skin, spots, I want something strong but not as strong as Good Genes but more oomph in an instant compared to Novexpert Peeling Night Cream. I see that this is better for spots and when my skin cellular turnover feels a little sluggish. Tom Ogden from Alpha-H said that this is like taking your skin to the gym. At pH 2.5 your skin will work really hard to create balance to your skin and help shed those sluggish cell that doesn’t want to shed on its own. I see significant result in dark spots in just a week time and also deep lines. Not that drying but this tingles really badly on me. More so than the others and even Good Genes. At some occasions I have to apply soothing cream after 20 minutes. Which is fine, I still see significant result.

2. Pixi Skintreats Overnight Glow Serum GBP 26.00

KEY INGREDIENTS
10% Glycolic Acid pH 3
Cucumber & aloe vera extracts to calm skin and vitamins A, C & E to nourish

HOW TO USE
Use PM.
Massage 2 to 3 drops onto cleansed, toned skin before moisturizer.

My thoughts

I reach for this when I want something milder but I want a better complexion in the morning. Or when I know I’m due for my monthly exfoliation or just weekly exfoliation treatment but I don’t think my cell is that sluggish and they look ok. Just when you think all you need is just that little jog around the neighbourhood to keep your body fit. This is mild. Mildest among the four. I like that this is the most hydrating one and I don’t need to use hydrating mask beforehand. Also, this feels the best when you just want a little bit of glow and to make sure that your skin able to hydrate itself better. Use it alone or under a moisturiser. I chose to use it alone for that extra oomph or this one is great for maintenance to use daily because it’s not that strong.

3. Sunday Riley Good Genes USD 105 / GBP 85

KEY INGREDIENTS
40% Lactic acid pH 2.6
Lemongrass to improve circulation and protect from environmental aggressors and Sunday’s patented NV-5 Ageless Complex to wage war on the early signs of aging.

HOW TO USE
Use five days a week as a serum, either alone or under your chosen Sunday Riley moisturiser. Or apply a thicker layer to cleansed skin and leave for five to ten minutes, to rewind ten years!

My thoughts

A lot of people are hooked on this. When you’re already addicted to this I don’t think Pixi Overnight Glow Serum will do any difference to your skin. I think this is the serious big gun when it comes to acid serum. This is THE GUN to bail you out when you have serious spots, dull skin and your cells are seriously being sluggish. When you’re in an overweight state and you need to go to the gym intesively with a PT every single day. This is the PT that you want to hold your hand.

It tingles on my skin but not as badly as Alpha-H liquid gold. It doesn’t feel as drying but it’s not as hydrating as Pixi’s. One thing about this one is that this is bloody expensive and need I repeat it’s a 40% lactic acid and it’s unneutralised acid that keeps on working at pH 2.6 all night long. You want this, but you don’t want this all the time.

4. Novexpert Peeling Night Cream IDR 495,000

In Indonesia this is easily available from Beauty Box, like I said the only one available here. A French brand which means it’s also widely available in Europe.

KEY INGREDIENTS
Gluconolactone, Glycolic acid, Lactic acid, Papaya fruit extract 10% formulation (I think the entire acid lot) at pH 3.5

HOW TO USE
Apply small dabs to the entire toroughly cleansed face, avoiding the eye contour and sides of the nose. Massage into skin, using circular upward strokes. Only a small amount of product is needed. Every evening as an intensive 1 month treatment. Because Peeling Night Cream is a powerful skin renewal program, we recommend that you discontinue use for 1 month minimum between each intensive treatment

My thoughts

I only use this as monthly intensive treatment for 5 or 7 days straight. Single use with nothing on top of it. I reach for this if I have acne spots or I feel my skin is a bit dull. But when everything is still manageable. I feel this delivers two third of Good Genes result at a third of its price.

_________________

Bottom line: I don’t think everyone need an acid serum yet. But incorporating it into your skincare arsenal when you have dull skin or when you’re already above 25 regularly would be beneficial. Start slowly and not too strong. Not only the percentage matters but the pH also matters. Take for instance at only 5% Alpha-H works wonders because of its low pH at 2.5 and even the slightest difference with Good Genes at pH 2.6 it already delivers result.

Battle of the Acid Serum: Liquid Gold, Glow Serum, Good Genes and Novexpert

13 thoughts on “Battle of the Acid Serum: Liquid Gold, Glow Serum, Good Genes and Novexpert

  1. Devy says:

    Mbak mau tanya, just to make sure, serum2 ini semuanya aman dipake waktu pregnancy kan ya? Uda googling ingredients dll, dan ga nemu yg contain bha. Jadi harusnya aman untuk bumil kah? Thanks!!

  2. Devy says:

    Mbak, saya mau nanya nih. 4 serum ini semuanya harusnya aman untuk pregnancy ya? Saya sudah googling ingredients aman, dan so far serum2 ini should be ok. Tolong dibantu jawab ya mbak? Thanks

  3. cicianggitha says:

    Halo mba Amal, kl untuk ampm bha skin renewal serum, perbandingan sm 4 serum di atas seperti apa?

    Sy sempat googling jg dan nemu artikel yg bilang bahwa ampm bha ini ada kandungan alkohol yg lumayan, nah menurut mba Amal kandungan alkoholnya masuk ke kategori tolerable atau gmn? (Mbak Amal sudah pernah review soal ampm bha ini kah sebelumnya? I cant find it here or at FD)

    Terima kasih banyak mbak Amal..🙂

    1. deszell says:

      AMPM BHA ya jadi agak beda. Review coming up. I have no problem with alcohol bisa baca lebih lanjut tentang alcohol in skincare di Futurederm. Lengkap banget mereka nerangin.

      1. cicianggitha says:

        wow.. cepet banget reply-nya mbak, so nice of you..

        ok noted, terima kasih banyak..

  4. Riry says:

    Hi mau tanya, been using novexpert booster vitamine c lately. Nah kl mau pake si good genes, itu pake nya sebelum atau setelah ya? Atau ga baik dibarengin? Hehehe thanks yaaa

  5. dali says:

    As for skin dullness and acne scars, how would you compare good genes to liquid gold.. I wonder if you could help me as I really want to try the good genes but the price is putting me off so I hoped the liquid gold could be a good substitute with similar results .. What do you think?

    1. deszell says:

      Liquid Gold is tad drying. I would opt for Novexpert first. I don’t think Liquid Gold is good for everyday use.

Leave a Reply

