Gel-based moisturisers from Aesop

It took me forever to review these two, Parsley Seed Anti-Oxidant Serum and Oil Free Hydrating Serum, I know. But it’s all worth the wait because I’ve been using these two for probably more than four months? I use them less nowadays and it’s always a good experience when I’m using these two.

These two products are actually my first batch of Aesop and made me instantly head over heels with the brand, which no wonder I ordered three more products afterward which was Parsley Seed Cleansing Masque which I’ve previously reviewed here, Parsley Seed Antioxidant Eye Serum which you all see so often on my Skincare Arsenal post and Fabulous Face Oil that I’ve yet opened.

So what do I think of them?

When I bought these two I was actually looking for a non cream, balm and oil hydrator. So I was intrigued by the idea of a gel liquid moisturiser. Who wouldn’t? It’s 100ml product each, which I thought since both products are so generous in sizes I must need plenty for each? I was proven wrong. I only probably need three drops for the whole face and neck and my prediction the whole bottle will last you a good 8 – 12 months of usage depending how much or little you use it. I ended up using 5 drops each use.

The packaging itself is a typical neat and apothecary style that Aesop is so well-known for with pipette bottle. It’s something annoying because the gel would pool up on the neck opening of the bottle if I’m not careful. But what else can you do? Pump bottle? This look better in my opinion. I’m sometimes one of those people who choose design over function :p

The texture is gel but it absorbs beautifully to the skin once applied. It doesn’t feel watery nor tacky but you feel that your skin is well hydrated. For both products the scent is amazing! It’s different kind of scent but they’re both lush.

While the name is ‘serum’ this is actually a moisturiser not a serum. It’s a nice pick for a daytime serum if you’re into anti-oxidant because I feel that my skin is packed with them whenever I applied this. But texture-wise and how it feels on the skin I actually prefer using the oil-free under the makeup.

Now the oil free is surprisingly not matte but whenever I’m wearing this I feel like my skin is instantly dry. I have dry skin mind you, I don’t know how it will feel on oily skin. It feels like a nice base if I want to wear foundation or powder without silicone-based primer. It feels great whenever Jakarta is overly humid and bloody hot.

I feel that you can get away with either one depending on what you need. For oilier skin opt for the oil free and for dryer skin you can choose the anti-oxidant instead. It’s a great product if you’re looking for moisturiser that is not cream/balm/oil based and feels light on the skin.

I won’t go much into ingredients because I feel this will act as a great basic moisturiser. Parsley Seed Anti-Oxidant Serum retail for AUD 69 while the Oil-Free Facial Hydrating Serum retail for AUD 63 both at 100ml. Which is quite cheap I must say so no complain there.

Gel-based moisturisers from Aesop

Leave a Reply

