Who’s waiting for the review of this Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm?

Another cleanser that I should have reviewed earlier since I’ve finished this sometime ago. Emma Cleanser Moringa Cleansing Balm is quite a renowned product in the vastly growing market of cleansing balm. People love it for its lush scent and lovely refined texture that is also cleanse your face thoroughly.

As quoted from the website. Here’s an explanation of what it is:

Award winning Moringa Cleansing Balm is a balanced daily cleanser that thoroughly cleanse deep in the pores, moisturises and calms all skin types.

Ingredients:

Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG-8 Beeswax, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, PEG-60 Almond Glycerides, Sorbitan Stearate, Palmitic/Stearic Triglycerides, Limonene, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Peel Oil, Silica, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Citrus Aurantium Amara (Bitter Orange) Flower Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Juniperus Virginiana Oil, Aqua (Water), Lecithin, Linalool, Butylene Glycol, Octyldodecyl PCA, Menthyl PCA, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Moringa Pterygosperma Seed Extract, Jasminum Officinale (Jasmine) Flower Oil, Rosa Damascena Flower Oil, Disodium Phosphate, Citronellol, Citric Acid, Geraniol, Citral.

Let’s highlight a couple of those.

The star ingredient is none other than Moringa Seed Extract that is commonly found in skincare and beauty product because it’s inexpensive yet moisturising, offers great cleansing and also it’s a great emollient.

Grape Seed Oil and Sweet Almond Oil that contain essential fatty acid to plum and soften the skin.

There are also great ingredients such as Jasmine, Rose, Orange, Neroli and Mandarin that offers many benefit but for me mostly they add a really lovely scent to the product.

How to use it?

I will take a dollop of the balm and warm it between my palms before applying it into a dry face and massage it thoroughly. I saw in a video at the Emma Hardie site that it’s suggested to add couple of drops of warm water to thin out the consistency of the product. But I did none of it because I like the grip from the thick balm so that I can use it to massage my face for a good three minutes in the morning.

You can take it off with a flannel/small towel or just cleanse your face thoroughly with lukewarm water afterward. Make sure that it’s really clean.

When can you use it?

You can use it as a makeup cleanser, it’s a pretty solid one even for a full coverage makeup. But for me, I didn’t use it as a makeup cleanser because this isn’t a cheap product so I prefer this cleanser to cleanse my skin instead of my makeup. As such, I use it as a second cleanser and morning cleanser. Especially great for morning cleanser that you want a product that you can use for a light facial massage as well.

Also, I love to use it as a massage balm after I double cleanse. I’m a follower of the Japanese school of skincare, which means there’s no easy way out. You do face massage after you’re finished with your double cleansing and no shortcut there.

What other method can you use it as?

  1. As a face mask – I will add a couple drop of any face oil of my choosing and leave it on my face for ten minutes and cleanse it thoroughly. It feels rejuvenating and it actually made my face appear more supple and hydrated.
  2. As a hair mask – apply on a wet hair and leave it on for 10-15 minutes for softer and shinier hair. I like to use oil mask as well but hair oil tend to be … well, oily.

The website also recommends to use this as overnight facial treatment, but since the texture is really oily and thick I never tried it. You can also use it as spot treatment, and no I haven’t tried it as well.

What I think about it?

Firstly, can I rant about the packaging? It’s a total bullshit. It cracks, the lid doesn’t fasten securely and it’s so flimsy. I think Emma can do something better with it. Considering it’s a balm, that can melt easily and turn liquidy, this product need better packaging. It’s a shipping nightmare!

Secondly, the balm turn into liquid easily under the humid weather of Indonesia that a jar packaging is not convenient at all. I need to put it inside the fridge to make the texture into a balm again.

As for the cleanser, surprisingly for a balm this balm is actually quite drying on my dry face. I suspect some oily, combination and normal skin people will love this more than I do. I still love this product, but I was taken aback of the lack of hydration I felt after using this balm. I love this balm because it’s multipurpose, has a nice consistency and the scent is lush. But on the days when my skin is really dry I can’t use this all the time and I rather reach out for my Balmology Balm, which of course costs twice more than this one.

How much?

This cleanser is £38.00 for 100ml. The 50 ml lasted me for three months of intermittent usage, I suspect it will last for two months if you use it twice a day, everyday.

Who’s waiting for the review of this Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm?

4 thoughts on “Who’s waiting for the review of this Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm?

Leave a Reply

