Grown Alchemist Detox Serum Antioxidant+3

IMG_0667

I have a soft spot for skincare that hailed from Melbourne. I’m not immune to the charm  of Grown Alchemist. In fact, it seems that more and more products from this brand is making its way into my life. The packaging may seems a little bit Aesop-ish, but it has something that Aesop is lacking which is the use of non-synthetic material and all natural ingredients. Although, when I inspect it closely that it seems that this brand hasn’t gotten its natural or organic certification from any single body as yet. However, upon checking the ingredients of the brand it seems like a solid brand.

Grown Alchemist products contain ingredients such as collagen and elastin boosting actives, advanced peptides, hyaluronic acid, cell-communicating actives and powerful antioxidant.

Taking into account where it came from, the lovely simple sleek packaging and product that seems to be effective, with or without certification I’m ready to profess my love for this brand. To date, I’ve used three products from Grown Alchemist: the Age Repair Eye Cream, the Chamomile, Bergamot and Rosewood Body Cleanser and the Detox Serum Antioxidant+3. Today, I will be reviewing the latter.

IMG_0669

What is it? Grown Alchemist Detox Serum Antioxidant+3 is your typical antioxidant laden serum that helps your skin to fight the external aggressors and UV exposures during the day.

What’s in it?

Aqua (Purified Water), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Extract, Dimethylmethoxy Chromanol (Antioxidant), Panthenol (Provitamin B5), Niacinamide (Vitamin B3), Aqua (and) Diaminopropionoyl Tripeptide-33 (And) Caprylyl Glycol (Naturally Derived Peptide), Sodium Dehydroacetate (Organic Listed), Hydroxyethylcellulose (Polysaccharide), Glycerin (Plant), Phenoxyethanol, Polysorbate 20 (Plant), Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower (Ylang Ylang) Oil, , Lactic Acid (Plant), Citral (Plant), Geraniol (Plant), Citronellol (Plant), Linalool (Plant).

Aloe vera will help to soothe the skin. Which is great considering during the day you get exposed to the sun alot and it could be quite unnerving to the skin.

Niacinamide is a cell communicating ingredient which is a great anti-ageing ingredient and also helps to lighten the skin.

Dimethylmethoxy Chromanol, this is where I need enlightenment. This ingredient is synthetic vitamin E analog, referred as Lipochroman-6. This is a potent antioxidant compared to tocopherol and proven to have 20 times more antioxidant activity. No red flag on this ingredient, but if it’s a synthetic ingredient in a brand that branding itself of using none, I feel like this is just another greenwashing move? But I will confirm with the brand, if I can before I write my next product review.

Diaminopropionoyl Tripeptide-33 no information regarding this ingredient but peptide is supposedly good anti-ageing ingredient.Peptides are made of amino acids, tripeptide refer to the number of amino acids which means here there are three. Peptides will help active molecules to send signals to cells when there’s collagen break downs and hence making new collagen, if possible.

Caprylyl Glycol both acting as humectant and preservatives and it’s plant derived.

Lactic Acid helps with skin cells turnover.

Geranium Oil minimise the appearance of wrinkle, improve skin elasticity and tightens facial skin. But there’s very little prove to this. Nice to have I guess.

Ylang ylang Oil helps with skin elasticity, cell turnover and smooth fine lines.

IMG_0666

Packaging: brown amber glass bottle with pump dispenser and you have a secure cap that you can fasten back on the neck of the dispenser when you want to bring with you when you’re travelling. Did that.

Texture: almost like water but sticky. Reminds me of the texture of first essences. In fact, when using this, I don’t mind skipping my first essences. This can be dubbed as a booster and the first essence to use! Absorbs instantly and leave no tacky feeling. I usually use two pumps for the whole face and neck. My skin loves this.

IMG_0668

My Verdict

You all know how I love Antipodes Worship. I’m pretty sure a lot of people will ask how it will wage against Antipodes Worship? Pricewise Antipodes Worship is around AUD 49,95 and Grown Alchemist Detox Serum is AUD 59,95. Not much difference there. At Benscrub, where I got mine from, they’re both Rp 699,900 and Rp 789,000 respectively. Still not much difference in terms of pricing from both products.

Before I begin with my review I want to clear the air to say that whether you get this one or Antipodes, it’s all the same for me. Both shows a great result from an antioxidant serum. Both have great lightweight texture. Both are natural products (though Antipodes have certification to verify this). The slight difference is that Antipodes have slightly brownish coloured liquid which could be a put off to some people and Grown Alchemist is almost clear in colour. In terms of application the Antipodes is much more cleaner and lighter.

Now onto the review. As I said before the texture is really light which makes this an ideal serum if you want to layer several layer of serums at the same time. I never have a problem layering serum after using this because it seems weightless and doesn’t add any weight to the skin.

Overall whenever I use antioxidant serum it seems that my skin doesn’t become dull easily eventhough I’m constantly exposed by UV rays or under a lot of stress. Additionally, I also feel that the serum that I’m using afterward absorbs better and work better. In terms of result, I see my skin looks more healthy and glowing, thanks to the many lightening ingredients in this serum. But I don’t think this is the serum if you want a real anti-ageing serum. You will need to combine this with Retinol and it would be a perfect duo.

In short, I don’t think I will go without either this or Antipodes Worship in my skincare routine anytime soon because I’m loving the result of adding antioxidant serum into my routine. For me antioxidant serum is more like a protection rather than a treatment serum. An investment I’ll be willing to add to my skincare routine.

 

I got this serum from Benscrub as a PR sample.

 

Grown Alchemist Detox Serum Antioxidant+3

Leave a Reply

