Why you should give the Osmia Organics Black Clay Facial Soap a Chance?

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you must know by now that I despise high pH cleanser and I always try to choose low pH cleanser. But when I had this black clay soap from Osmia Organics that I received from one of my Beauty Heroes boxes, I thought why not just give it a try.

It’s inevitable with saponified soap bar that the pH of the cleanser will be high. Thankfully this one doesn’t go as high as 9 and maintain its pH lower than 8. Still it isn’t the pH that I’m looking for but since I have this at my disposal, why not give it a try.

Screen Shot 2016-06-11 at 10.32.45 PM

The Osmia Organics Black Clay Facial Soap is one of their best selling soaps and made with Australian black clay and dead sea mud to balance and tone the skin. On top of that this product is enriched with organic coconut milk, which we all know coconut is a great anti bacterial ingredient – or is that just the oil? I don’t have oily skin, but I find that balancing products tend to work wonders to my skin when I’m on my PMS or period cycle where I often experience hormonal acne and heightened sensitivity on the skin. Prior to this I’ve tried their Facial Calibration Serum to replace my Sunday Riley Artemis and it works wonderfully. So with the success of the first product, I’m more open minded to try other products from Osmia Organics.

The product is just a usual black soap bar with uneven edges on one side. It’s 2.25 oz in size which should lasts for around 8-12 weeks if you use it every single day, twice a day. For me, since I only use it for a week every month during the period cycle, I’ve barely made a dent in the soap. I think with a bar soap, once you go half way through the soap tend to disappear faster than the first half of the use.

How to use it? You lather it up on your hands and apply the foam that you make in your hands into dry skin. This is definitely a second cleanser and in no way can be used as a first cleanser. Rinse well afterward.

The first time I used it, it was a bit tingly. Perhaps from the black clay, but it wasn’t an irritating kind of tingle. By the second time I used it, I no longer felt the tingle and it was just like any other cleanser. Of course, after washing the cleanser I didn’t feel a supple and plump skin like when I’m using oil, balm or cream cleanser. But it wasn’t dry at all like when I’m using other high pH cleansers and especially when it’s a soap one. I was quite surprised. I even left my skin for as long as 30 minutes before continuing with my other skincare routine to know how drying it was. It was bearable.

I feel like this cleanser helps with my bumpy skin and making the acne or whiteheads surface sooner when I’m on my period cycle, which is the worst period for my skin. Combined with the Facial Calibration Oil my skin tends to behave better despite the hormonal fiasco. Considering it isn’t that drying and it works for the skin, I will keep using it for many months to come.

If you’re dealing with acne, you might want to consider using this. If you’re using this every single day, I would probably stick with once a day, during the night. Because of the high pH consideration.

Why you should give the Osmia Organics Black Clay Facial Soap a Chance?

Leave a Reply

