Skincare doesn’t have to be expensive

screen-shot-2016-09-17-at-10-47-33-am

Lately, I’ve been asked a lot about budget skincare. But when you think about the word ‘budget’ what exactly is the range? Apparently the range goes from USD 10 – 30 dollars or in Indonesia it’s somewhere around below IDR 100,000 or below IDR 300,000. So I thought why not make a post about it.

I think Skincare doesn’t have to be expensive. You can find good products in drugstores for as low as IDR 50,000. Skincare is more of a commitment instead of budget. Whatever your budget is, the time you’re willing to commit for using your skincare is more important.

Skincare is a commitment to use it twice a day and without fail. Consider this as investment. A lot of my friends are now entering their 40’s and when I see them, I see the reaffirmation that using skincare truly makes a difference. Their skin looks younger, fresher and healthier compared to other people their age who doesn’t really take care of their skin. I think when you’re in your teenager and 20’s you have it easy. If your lifestyle isn’t really affecting your skin, your skin condition bounce back really fast. But as you enter your 30’s you can really start to see the difference, and when you finally hit 40’s that’s the defining mark.

With that said, please do take care of your skin as soon as possible. You can have it as easy as cleanse, tone, moisturise and protect with sunscreen. You can read it all in this article if you don’t know where to begin.

Coming back to your budget for skincare, if you’re not willing to dish out much for your skincare products, you can always go for drugstore or products that are within your budget. Because trust me, skincare doesn’t have to be expensive. You just need to find one that is within your budget.

Here are some brands/products that I can recommend:

  1. In general I highly suggest Hada Labo skincare to everyone looking for a good affordable skincare. They have the same quality as any other Japanese products and they truly deliver good result. Rarely did I hear any complain about their products.
  2. If you’re looking for first cleanser try the Biore Cleansing Oil or The Body Shop Chamomile Cleansing Butter/Cleansing Oil. They cleanse makeup thoroughly, doesn’t make your skin dry and cost below IDR 150,000. Alternatively, I love Erha Simply Remove which is really great cream cleanser but it doesn’t work well with full coverage makeup.
  3. As for second cleanser there are a lot of choices out there. But I strongly suggest to search for one that are free from SLS/SLES. Again, I would pick something from Hada Labo for cleansing foam. If you like to second cleanse with cleansing milk, I think Viva Cleansing Milk is a great choice considering the price and the reviews on this product have been very positive. It’s not enough to remove your makeup, but a great second cleanser. Never use cotton pad for your cleansing milk and always wash off with water.
  4. If you’re looking for hydrating toner you can either look for something from Hada Labo or BioEssence.
  5. Both acid toner and serum are products that you want to pay extra. Because a good one always costs more. I’ve found an acid toner from Erha which cost below IDR 100,000 but the pH level is way above 4 which will be ineffective. So I would either go for Clinique Clarifying Toner (if you don’t have any problem with alcohol) or Bravura that you can easily purchase from Benscrub nowadays. As for serum, I really can’t recommend anything because it depends on your skin’s problem. But you can look around from brands such as Hada Labo, Novexpert, The Body Shop and Clinique. The more serious your problem is, the more expensive your serum will be.
  6. Moisturiser is an easy one. You can find one easily with affordable price from Hada Labo, Bio Essence, The Body Shop, etc. With price well below IDR 200,000. It’s important to seal everything with moisturiser! I usually steer people toward Hada Labo because I know their product range: white if your skin is dry, blue if you want brightening action or red if you want anti ageing ingredients. But I believe The Body Shop moisturisers are pretty solid choice as well.
  7. If you want affordable sunscreen that is very light and comfortable to wear you don’t need to go any further than SkinAqua that will cost I think below IDR 75,000. Biore is good as well, but it cost more and harder to find in Indonesia.

I think that basically covers all the basic.

Skincare doesn’t have to be expensive

10 thoughts on “Skincare doesn’t have to be expensive

  1. I don’t know a lot about skincare. But I can’t find the diference between 50k or 500k night cream. I love Citra Pink Orchid (below 30k) and Pixy Aqua Gel Night Cream (below 50k). As long as they have BPOM and ingredients list is written in English, I will give them a try.
    😊

  2. jules says:

    tertarik banget nyobain sunscreen Biore, cuma variannya banyak banget bikin bingung. Aku pengennya yang thin aja dan ga bikin kulit jadi oily soalnya muka aku kombinasi oily & dry. Kalo siang daerah t-zone bakalan oily banget. Ada rekomendasi ga kak?

    1. Sunscreen biore di Indonesia dulu ada 3 : milk (cair), mousse (silicon-based suncreen), dan essence (liquidy cream). Sekarang cuma ada yang essence aja, dan itu hasilnya velvet matte gitu. Saya sering menggunakannya sebagai sunscreen & makeup primer/base karena finishnya tadi. I do recommend you to try it dan skinaqua yang spf 50+ & pa +++ karena dia ditujukan untuk oily skin. Hope it helps!

  3. mbak amal, do you think there are differences between hada labo products distributed in indonesia and the ones we bought directly in japan? cos the ones i bought here give me pimples right away.

  4. VLVII says:

    I agree ! skincare itu gak harus mahal (meskipun sering suka ngiler pengen icip ini itu yg mahal. I blame you instagram! Ha ha..). I appreciate the fact that you post this kind of post kak. It is incredibly helpful for those who just start their skincare routine. Anw, been a fan since 2014, sejak nyasar dan jadi silent reader di thread skII. From there on I start to follow your instagram and blog and been a reader till today (more like a stalker 😆). You literally save my skin! I am even considering to send you a fan letter. may I? 😁

    1. deszell says:

      Thank you so much for your nice words! Jadi geer banget. Seneng banget bisa bantu dan ternyata tulisan isengku berguna buat orang lain 😊

Leave a Reply

