Holy Grail: Su:m 37 Melting Cleansing Balm

It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of the brand Su:m 37. You give me anything from this brand and I will love it wholeheartedly. It’s much like my blind love toward Menard. Alas, I will try to give you my objective review regarding this cleansing balm. Although, it’s hard to so with that pretty pear-shaped packaging. I’m a sucker for pretty packaging. There are times that I’m willingly part with my hard-earned money just because a certain product came with pretty packaging.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 3.56.35 PM.png

So what is it? It’s a solid balm cleanser that will melt into oil once it come into contact with the warmth of your skin. Very easy to scoop out, it’s almost buttery. I think this is the kind of cleanser which is perfect for everyone.

The packaging: As you can see the pretty frosted glass pear-shaped packaging. There’s a spatula that you can put on top of the lid and it will sort of glued there magnetically. Which makes the whole experience of popping it back into the lid a wonderful one.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 3.17.48 PM

How do you use it? You can use it either for first or second cleanser. But I prefer to use this as second cleanser.

What’s in it? I prefer to redirect you to this COSDNA link. But from what I see there seems to be no ingredient that will cause negative reaction. Which is good news for you out there who always ask whether this is good for acne-prone skin, sensitive skin, etc.

What do I think about it?

The texture is wonderful. Once you scoop it out, it doesn’t really melt easily in your fingers. But once you spread it around your face it turns to oil as you massage it. It melts away your makeup, even your waterproof eye makeup easily with no tugging whatsoever. The scent is so wonderful! Hence, why I prefer to use it as a second cleanser. It’s also easily emulsified. Leave a really nice well hydrated supple skin.

I enjoy using this as a second cleanser because I can feel that my skin really loving this. It’s also great to use as a massage balm because it’s oily and you can glide your fingers easily around your face with the help of this balm however there’s still a little bit of grip.

Final verdict: With the price that’s below USD 50, I think this is one of those products that is truly value for money. I forgot how much it is, but if IIRC it’s below USD 30 because my friend bought for me from the DFS.  It’s around USD 35-25 depending on discount on Korea Depart. With that kind of price, considering the packaging, texture and the result, it’s one of the best purchase you can actually make! I love it even more than my Emma Hardie cleanser because you get that lush scent but it’s far more hydrating and nicer texture.

Holy Grail: Su:m 37 Melting Cleansing Balm

Leave a Reply

