Holy Grail: Ellen Lange Accelerating Pads

I would have not known Ellen Lange peel range if it isn’t because of the good people of Ellen Lange that reach out to me. After scouring their website, I agreed for them to send me the whole set of the peel kit. It looks legit and solid range. Today, I’m thankful that they did reach out to me, because I get to discover a great range. With that said, I want to open this review by saying that this is another holy grail product of mine. It’s been one holy grail product after another lately, but catching up with posts should started with holy grail kind of products.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 3.54.44 PM.png

What is it? Ellen Lange Peel Accelerating Pads, 60 discs inside the tub.

This is actually part of a peel kit which consists of:

  1. Peel Prep (2 oz.) an enzyme scrub
  2. Peel Accelerator Pads (60 pads) pre-moistened glycolic peel pads
  3. Glycolic Peel Solution (1.5 oz.) the original peel kit solution
  4. Fan brush and dispensing cup

The whole set cost USD 85. I will probably review the whole set sometime in the future.

How do I use it? As an acid toner, after I double cleansed. I usually use this at night because I feel this is one of those acid toners that seriously packed a punch.

What’s in it? It contains 5% glycolic acid and also mint with pH between 3.5-4. Other than that, sadly, I threw away my box and I couldn’t find any ingredient list. Ellen Lange really need to update their website. But as far as I remember, there really is no red flag in the ingredient list.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 3.54.57 PM.png

Packaging etc: It’s in tub, with pre-soaked disc. It’s well soaked but not too wet. Have a really nice balance between not enough liquid and just enough.

What do I think about it?

When you first open the tub, you will smell a really strong minty scent. Not acid or chemical, but mint! It usually does the trick to woke me up if I need a little pick me up in the morning.

Upon contact with the skin you feel this ultra cooling sensation from the mint, that you forgot about all the stinging reaction from the acid! It really cover up the after effect of applying a heavy lifting acid on my face. Sure, there’s a sting to it. But the cooling sensation just numb it out. The cotton pad used here is super soft and doesn’t feel abrasive at all and I get the liquid allover my face just alright.

When I first tried it, it felt super strong even compared to Pixi. When all the coolness subside, you really can feel the tingling. I will immediately put a hydrating toner on top of it before my skin feel too tight and dry, which then will become itchy.

The first impression of this product really blew me away. I love the smooth result in the morning. It able to retexturise my skin, reinvigorate tired skin and take away the dullness from my skin.

This is a tad milder than my Biologique P50 but below the Pixi Glow Tonic. If you want an extra oomph without the dryness of both of those, pick this! Also, the cooling sensation really make you feel that it’s doing something good to your skin. Pick this if you want a little bit of glow back to your skin, it feels really dull and you need all the help you can get with skin texture.

When I first used this, I thought it will be too strong for everyday used. But when I travelled to Japan, I used this every single day on cold weather and I have no problem at all. So if you want to use it at night, be my guest. But I don’t recommend using this twice a day. Pick a lighter acid toner for morning use.

Holy Grail: Ellen Lange Accelerating Pads

Leave a Reply

